My DIY canvas pouch for pocket carry

For the past 5+ years, I have regularly worn a pouch on my belt for convenient access to small, frequently used items (and emergency items) while in the woods. While convenience is great, a more important benefit of belt pouches is that they allow you to keep some critical gear items separate from your backpack so that, should your pack be separated from you, you still have a few basic essential capabilities. Without exaggeration, this can mean the difference between life and death in the most extreme cases.

As great as belt pouches are, though, they are not without their drawbacks. Besides getting in the way of backpack hip belts and other things that go around your waist, some belt pouches can get caught on branches etc. while passing through thick brush and sometimes even be opened up unintentionally in the process. They can also get in the way of long shirts and jackets (or create a large bulge if worn underneath).

Wanting to retain the benefits of a belt pouch, but not be bothered with the drawbacks, I decided to try out pocket carry instead. Whatever season it is, and whatever I happen to be wearing, I always have large pockets which can be snapped closed to hold a small pouch full of important items. Although pocket carry may be slightly less convenient, I’d be happy to give up a small amount of convenience in exchange for being more “aerodynamic”. 😉

I put together this small canvas pouch on a lazy afternoon around Christmas:

I have already used this pouch once and found that it works great. There seems to be very little disadvantage to having the items in my pocket, as opposed to on my belt. I’ll continue to carry this way in the future and see how it goes. Oh, and if you’re wondering what’s in the pouch, you’ll have to wait for my overall gear update. 🙂

As a little bonus, here are some recent pictures I took at the old farm. The Woodsboy and I went out with some friends of ours after Christmas. Hope you enjoy!

12 comments on “My DIY canvas pouch for pocket carry

  1. Ken Speed says:

    Interesting; your belt pouch and pocket pouch address the fact that neither my M39 not my LT35 Swedish Army Surplus backpacks have pockets for easy accessibility to small stuff. Definitely food for thought. I could easily make or buy a pouch for that little waist strap on the M39. Thanks for mentioning the idea.

  2. Hej buddy!
    Welcome back into the online world of digital outdoorsmanship… 😉

    Seriously though, it good to have you back.
    Like the pouch, but the first thing I thought was:”I’d add a loop to that.” Goes to see how different views lead to different views and thus solutions.
    I strongly dislike having pockets filled with stuff, so I go for “external” stowage all the time, hence my beltpouches, shoulderbag and a discontinued use of the m39 backpack for instance.

    • Thanks, Ron!

      I did actually think of adding a belt loop to the back when I made it, which I might still do. It wouldn’t hurt! But the canvas material is not very rigid, so I’d have to stiffen it up with a wax impregnation if I want to wear it on my belt occasionally.

      I don’t like having my pockets filled with lots of little things in a big jumble, but I find a single slim pouch like this isn’t bad at all. I like the fact that I can choose which pocket I put it in: pants side pocket, cargo pocket, jacket pocket etc. I’ll continue using the pocket pouch for a while and see how I like it.

      Thanks for your comments, buddy!

  3. Unsmileys says:

    nice DIY
    ______________________________________________________________________
    Hi 🙂
    Please check out my blog http://unsmileys.wordpress.com/ & http://unsmileys.co.vu/ and facebook page if you want 🙂 Thank you so much.It means a lot. And you have a really nice blog 🙂 Best wishes
    Happy blogging 🙂

  4. Carol says:

    Love the pics of the scenery!!

  5. Charlie says:

    Just curious… Why a snap closure instead of a drawstring?

    • Well, I had snaps on hand and they’re easier and quicker to install than a drawstring. 😉 I also wanted something that is easy to open/close with thick gloves on, and the snap closure makes this possible. Also, I like the clean and neat closure of a flap with a snap (or button). A drawstring would probably work just as well, though!

  6. Absolutely beautiful photos! I would love to experience a winter like that!

Leave a comment