New big knife from Finland: the Skrama

While perusing the website of Finnish outdoor and military surplus shop Varusteleka, I spotted a new knife of their own design which is now available: the “Skrama”. It looked interesting to me, so I decided to share it with you here. For the record, I don’t work for the company or anything like that, and this blog post was completely unsolicited. I’m just a satisfied customer who orders from them from time to time.

The Skrama:

Image linked from Varusteleka website

Somewhat reminiscent of the Taiter hukari, but much more refined, this new knife is a modern take on the seax or scramasax of the Middle Ages. It looks to be part axe, part knife and part machete and is billed as a multi-purpose bush tool. I’m not necessarily a big-knife freak, but this one appeals to me for some reason. Having some experience with big knives, it looks to me like it would work well based on the design and specs:

  • Blade dimensions: 24 cm (9.5″) long, 4 mm (0.16″) thick
  • Blade material: 80CrV2 carbon steel
  • Handle material: textured molded rubber over long full tang
  • Weight: 525 g (18.5 oz.)
  • Sheath: simple plastic blade cover (they say a leather belt sheath is in the works)
  • Current price: 65 Euro (about $85)

More info can be found here.

Image linked from Varusteleka website

I’ll be leaving for Lapland in two days and won’t be able to update the blog while I’m gone. Stay tuned!

11 comments on “New big knife from Finland: the Skrama

  1. stellingsma2010 says:

    huvaa!!! 🙂

  2. Ron says:

    Nej tack….
    Not for me.

  3. What’s the hole in the blade for?
    SBW

  4. Grom says:

    Great camp knife ! I was going for a Taiter Hukari but Varusteleka replaced it with this and I don’t have any regrets. This one can even replace work I did with my Mora knife.

  5. […] this autumn, I brought your attention to a new knife designed by Varusteleka, a Finnish outdoor/military surplus supplier. The Skrama, which is made in […]

  6. Julle says:

    I’ll stick to Taiteri Hukari, have used it for 20 years and it is together with a small knife all you need in the woods. Skrama is too big and heavy…. Hukari is a real tool in Finnish wilderness…

Leave a Reply

