Easter ice fishing

I’ve been extremely busy lately due to work and preparing for our upcoming move, but I wanted to take some time out to give you guys a quick peek at our little ice-fishing trip from Easter weekend. Every Easter, we go out on the lake at my in-laws’ house to see how the fish are biting. This year, our group included me, the Woodsbabe, the Woodsboy, the Woodsbabe’s brothers and some of their friends and girlfriends.

Some of the crew:

The Woodsboy took it upon himself to check out the equipment, making sure it was in fine working order.

The brothers set up a little ways away.

The Woodsboy waited patiently by my side…for about 10 seconds. 😉

He made sure to visit all the other anglers as well.

One brother caught this little guy. I can’t remember what kind of fish they said it was. Update: Scandic Woodsman has identified this fish as “kiiski”, or Eurasian ruffe. Thanks SW!

Here’s the Woodsboy helping to cut a fresh hole in the ice with his uncle.

After a long wait with no bites, I finally hooked this little perch.

Overall, the pickins were slim, but we weren’t out for all that long. It’s really more of a family affair that a food-gathering event. At least there was no shortage of scenery. 🙂

Speaking of scenery, thanks go out to the Woodsbabe for handling the photography! 🙂

6 comments on “Easter ice fishing

  1. OZme says:

    nice looking family event. I thought I am quite good with ID:ing Finnish lake fish, but that little guy… I give up. I have no idea.

  2. Finnman says:

    Nice icefishing trip you had there!

    That little fish is “kiiski” in finnish ((Gymnocephalus cernuus). Kiiski belongs same species with ahven (perch) and kuha. Those are often very small like 10-50 grams and very slimy and spiky. Kiiski is used to make delicious soup base, when there´s not that much to eat on them.

    – Finnman

  3. OutdoorEnvy says:

    Great day. I miss ice fishing. It’s been way too long since I’ve been. I enjoy seeing and reading about it. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

