Traditional Finnish log construction

Sometime last year, Scandic Woodsman alerted me to an interesting vintage video on YouTube. It shows a group of men building a log structure using only hand tools in the traditional Finnish way. Apparently, it was still very common for people to build their own houses in this manner well into the 1920s/1930s. The video below is in Finnish and doesn’t have subtitles, but it’s still very interesting to watch, in my opinion.

Hope you enjoy it!

17 comments on “Traditional Finnish log construction

  1. wgiles says:

    That was very interesting. I understand most of what they were doing, but have many questions about details. It may be vintage, but it doesn’t seem to be that old. My guess is maybe 40 years old going by the quality of the color in the video. I’m assuming that it was originally filmed and then converted to video.

  2. Maarten-Jan says:

    Thanks for the share, Enjoyed the movie a lot! Like wgiles I have a lot of detailed questions but I’m slowly reading/learning on the topic! Hope I’m in a position to build my own house/shed one day ;).

  3. Michael says:

    Very interesting video. A few interesting techniques I had not seen before like the sidelapping on the roof shingles. Also the reversible head on the planning axe he was using to celan up the sides of the wall was something I had not seen before. Thanks for sharing.

  4. A dream of all of ours isn’t it..

  5. Hello,

    Thanks for promoting this deserivng film.

    E. DB.

  6. Antonio says:

    I stayed up till 2am watching this! Amazing. I will watch many more times to learn techniques.

  7. Martijn Top says:

    I sat and watched with my jaw dropping… Amazing skills there!

  8. […] By the way, if you’d like to see how buildings like the one above were made in the old days, check out this post. […]

Leave a Reply

