Vintage ice chisel

Two years ago, I found a vintage ice chisel (or tuura in Finnish) at a consignment shop and bought it for 12 Euro ($15.50 US). It’s used to hack down through ice to make holes for ice fishing etc. The handle on this one is old and badly cracked, so I will make a replacement handle for it soon in preparation for an upcoming ice-fishing trip. Nowadays, it’s much more common to use ice augers for this purpose, but I’m looking forward to using my (soon to be finally) restored old-timey ice chisel. 🙂

8 comments on “Vintage ice chisel

  1. OutdoorEnvy says:

    That’s pretty neat. I love using old tools. That handle looks kind of like a modified baseball bat. Maybe you should try that for your handle. LOL!

  2. Can’t wait to see it restored.
    I was just out the other day with my ice chisel- made me glad that I had not fixed my 5th trap yet.

  3. Klem says:

    are you entirely sure its an ice pick? looks like its only 3 feet long, in which would lead me to believe its actually a bark spud for log milling.

    just my two cents tho

Leave a Reply

