Something old, something new

Our recent vacation to the US (final report coming soon) allowed me to become reunited with a few pieces of gear I had not used/seen in several years. I also had the opportunity to visit a few stores and pick up something new.

The “old” items are of such length that it would have cost an arm and a leg to mail them over (“oversize package” fees). This is what prevented me from getting them earlier. Fortunately, I was able to check these items as a piece of luggage on our flight back to Finland at no extra cost. One of the items I brought back was a 50 pound-draw longbow I bought in the States years ago. It is about 6 feet/180 cm long. I don’t even remember what wood it’s made out of (hickory?). I haven’t actually shot this bow yet, but getting into archery/bow-hunting is on my to-do list.

The other old item is about 20 years old. It is a simple walking stick I made as a teenager. This thing accompanied me on many a trip in my youth. As for the wood, I believe it was either Atlantic white cedar (which is actually a cypress) or red cedar (which is actually a juniper). I am looking forward to taking this old walking stick for a spin again, this time in the forests of Finland.

The new item I brought back is a small, thin folding knife from Buck. It’s a slip-joint, a model 379 Solo, featuring a single clip-point blade. It’s nothing amazing, but I’ve wanted a classic-style knife for some time, not having had one since my youth. Its slim profile means that it disappears into a pocket. It’s not going to butcher a moose (maybe?), but for the few-and-far-between cutting tasks I need a small EDC knife for, it would be perfect. I should mention that, somewhat bizarrely, carrying any kind of knife on your belt or in your pocket in public is illegal in Finland (unless it’s work-related), so I would never carry an EDC knife (perish the thought…). But if I were to carry one, it would be this one. 🙂

Now all that’s left is to get back out into the field and put these things to use!

(Sorry about the picture quality. It’s not always easy to get good lighting indoors!)

13 comments on “Something old, something new

  1. Buck is a good company. One of the few original American knife companies who is successfully making certain models overseas with good quality control. Ironically enough their Chinese slippies? Tend to be better finished and made than the US made stuff now.

    • This is my first Buck knife in a long time, and I’m happy to have it. I like the traditional styling (even though the handle scales aren’t real bone ;)). The blade came shaving sharp and the lock-up is solid. It’s a nice little knife!

  2. Very nice! Something about old bows and slip joints that scream woodsmen of a century ago and more ago, Saxton Pope and the Art Young, Maurice Thompson and his brother.

    When you string that old wood for the first time and loose that feathered shaft the spell will have been cast as well as the die. You’ll walk the old woods with a stick and string that reaches back through the mists of time, connecting you to those who walked there too.

    Congrats on the new gear!

  3. Ron says:

    Awesome things there, Matt.
    Must have felt like christmas refinding and holding that bow and walkingstick, reminding you of times that were and of times that are to come. More often than not I feel that it are these memories and anticipations that are even better than experiencing the moment itself for real!
    Many happy hours with them all….

    • Yep, it was great to get my hands on that stuff again. 🙂 Scandic Woodsman is into archery and bow-hunting, so hopefully we’ll be able to shoot together soon. As for the walking stick, it’ll come along on my next hike. 🙂

  4. Sam says:

    Wow that is really cool, especially about you getting into bow hunting and shooting. I make bows and as you can probably tell I enjoy it alot. I am looking forward to bow hunting this fall. I think that your bow is most likely made out of hickory. I also like your walking stick, those things can be very handy.

  5. OZme says:

    It is so nice to bring old gear over here. I also have some left back in Japan and some day would like to get them over here. a bow is one of them and I miss it quite a lot these days.

Leave a Reply

