2012 summer trip update

Several months ago, I wrote about my intentions to visit Lapland again this summer. For a number of reasons (particularly our house move, vacation in the States and previous lack of a childcare solution), a trip to Lapland was/is not possible this summer. 😦

I have, however, been able to arrange for a short trip closer to home in the complete opposite direction: Estonia. “Estonia?” you ask? Yes, Estonia! It’s a beautiful country full of nice people, lush forests and great outdoor opportunities. It’s unfortunate that more people don’t know much about this small Baltic country, because it has a lot to offer.

I am lucky to once again have access to a piece of private property, this time on the beautiful island of Saaremaa, so in about a month I will be heading there for three full days and three nights for some hiking, camping and fall foliage photography. I might also do some sightseeing in the island’s capital town. Although I have been to this island before, I have never done any outdoor activities there, so I’m really looking forward to it.

So be on the lookout for a multi-day trip report from the Weekend Woodsman in Estonia in a month or so!

(Linked image)

7 comments on “2012 summer trip update

  1. Ron says:

    Lucky bastard……

    Enjoy yourself (I’m sure you will) and return safe and sound!

  2. Chris Major says:

    Looking forward to reading moe about it!

  3. Can’t wait to see it. Growing up, I had a few pen pals from Estonia. Have fun!

  4. […] tools, belt pouch and shoulder bag. Seeing as how I had to get my gear together for my upcoming trip to Estonia anyway, I figured I’d take pictures of it all and just put out a single post showing all the […]

Leave a Reply

