A quick flint striker tip

Last winter, I was given a forged flint striker and a piece of flint by blacksmith extraordinaire Mr. Seikku.

I have used it to light charred cotton cloth, and I find it to be a lot of fun to use. Seeing as how flint and flint-like rocks are not found naturally in Finland, I was curious to see if quartz would work, as quartz is found in abundance here. So, using the poll of my hatchet, I knocked off a small piece of quartz from a boulder at my old campsite and tried it with the striker. I was happy to find that it worked just as well as the flint! I’m pretty sure a piece of quartz wouldn’t stand up to this kind of abuse for as long as a piece of flint, but it certainly has shown itself to be a viable alternative. So if you also lack flint, obsidian etc. in your area, give another type of stone a try!

7 comments on “A quick flint striker tip

  1. OutdoorEnvy says:

    That’s a neat tip. I would have never thought to try quartz. Thanks, I actually have some of both where I am.

  2. OZme says:

    it is fun to try out different alternatives to flint. natural or not, there are many things around us which could be used as a flint.
    As i understand, to get usable spark out of striker, you need something that is harder than Mohs hardness of 6.

  3. Sam says:

    I need to try out the flint and steel some more. It is good to know that you can use quartz instead of flint, it might come in handy.

  4. Ron says:

    I so want a steel striker too!
    Many people make it look so easy to make one yourself out of an old file for instance…. but I have no clue as to how or what. Metalworking just isn’t my cup of sprucetea.

Leave a Reply

