My three favorite bushcraft/camping items

There’s a video tag going around on YouTube where folks are telling about their three favorite buschraft/camping items. Although I haven’t been tagged (kind of hard when you don’t have a YouTube channel), I thought it would be fun to make a blog post about my three favorites. So, in no particular order:

Custom BushProwler from Ilkka Seikku

This knife is based on Ilkka’s BushProwler design, but features a number of changes I wanted him to make, such as a thinner and longer blade, a one-piece handle on a hidden full tang, a cow horn bolster and a redesigned sheath, among other things. This item is one of my favorites because it is so versatile, strong and looks/feels great, too.

.

Modified Swedish M39 rucksack

I bought this pack at a consignment shop and have made a few modifications to it. I really like this pack for its older styling, ruggedness and versatility. For day trips, I can throw my shoulder bag, food and other stuff inside, and for multi-day outings, I strap my bedroll and sleeping pad to the outisde and throw in things like cooking equipment, food, tent etc.

.

German army poncho tent

I made this tent last year using two German army ponchos, some modern tent material and a few snaps. The ponchos are extremely rugged and versatile in their own right, but when combined and modified, they make a compact, versatile and very effective shelter. It can be left open at one or both ends, one side can be propped up as an awning to allow air flow and warmth from a fire or it can be closed up completely.

I’d like to tag The American Woodsman, The Florida Steampunker and OutdoorEnvy to show us their three favorites (if you guys aren’t interested in doing this, don’t worry about it!). 🙂

7 comments on “My three favorite bushcraft/camping items

  1. Izzy says:

    I got tagged. So I did it. Good selection. The M39 and an Italian version are pretty abundant here in the states. A classic picture of the “European Alpine Ruck” if there ever was one.

  2. OutdoorEnvy says:

    Nice gear. What’s the length on that blade? Looks around 7″ but was just curious.

    I’ll post up my three favs….just gotta figure out which three are my favs 🙂

  3. Sam says:

    This is a great idea, I would really like to post my three favorite camping and bushcraft items. The only trouble might be finding my three favorites. I will try to post them on my blog as soon as I have time. And thanks for inviting me to join in.

  4. […] musste ich feststellen, dass das Stöckchen doch schon länger unterwegs ist und von Youtube über The Weekend Woodsman aus Finnland unter geschriebener Form in die Blogs gekommen […]

Leave a Reply

