Fried dandelions – A “blast from the past” post

.
I like free food. I also like fried food. It should therefore not surprise you that I like free fried food. 🙂 Thanks to our overgrown back yard, I have plenty of dandelion blossoms to fry up.
.
The first step is to locate (and positively identify) dandelion flowers. (The pictures in this post are recycled from last year, and apparently my lens was smudgy. Sorry!)
.
.
Then pick the flower heads, remove all of the stem below the head and dunk the heads in water, changing the water three or four times to get rid of pollen and bugs. Then drain them on a piece of paper towel.
.
.
Put the flower heads in some milk (you can also use egg or milk and egg) to help the breading stick.
.
.
The next step is to coat the wet heads with flour, which I like to season with salt, pepper and garlic powder.
.
.
.
.
This is followed by frying them in oil (I like extra virgin olive oil) at medium heat for a few minutes. Make sure to not let them fry too long, and remember to flip them over to brown the bud side, too.
.
.
Once they are done frying, lay them on a paper towel to drain the excess oil.
.
.
I like to add just a little extra salt before eating them. To me, they taste a bit like fried okra or fried eggplant. I really like them!
.
.
As always, consuming wild edibles is done at your own risk, so be careful!
4 comments on “Fried dandelions – A “blast from the past” post

  1. Chris Major says:

    Looking forward to trying this,
    I love wild edibles. I am attending a full week of bushcraft, primitive Technology and backwoods camping training this month, so am hoping to pick up a load more foraging tips.

  2. Finnman says:

    That´s something I have never tried before. Maybe worth of trying that soon.

    – Finnman

Leave a Reply

