Southward…and northward…ho!

This month, the Woodsfamily will be moving from eastern to southern Finland, as the Woodswife was just hired for a new job there (my work is not location-dependent, so this move won’t affect it at all). This means that I won’t be visiting my regular woods as often as I do now. It also means that I will live much, much closer to my friends at Scandic Woodsman Blog, Bush n’ Blade Blog, Akiri’s Blog and Kermiitin Tarinat Blog, among others. So you can expect to see a lot more cross-blog happenings starting this summer! I’m really looking forward to revisiting and exploring new outdoor destinations in that part of the country.

In other news, my brother-in-law and I are currently planning this year’s backpacking trip to Lapland! Last year, I went to Urho Kekkonen National Park near Ivalo, Finland on my own. This year, we will be going even farther north, to the point where Sweden, Norway and Finland meet. The area is called “Käsivarsi” in Finnish. There is a designated wilderness area in this section of the country, and the terrain is much more rugged and tundra-like than what I showed you last year. We’ve decided to make a road trip out of it and will also be visiting Sweden after finishing the main hiking and camping part of the trip. The exact dates have not yet been set.

For some pictures of the area, check out Kilpisjärvi.org.

That about wraps it up for this time. Needless to say, I am very excited about these developments. I hope you stick around to see my new adventures, trips with friends and more!

8 comments on “Southward…and northward…ho!

  1. Finnman says:

    Wow, big changes and new adventures ahead!

    – Finnman

  2. Ron says:

    Exciting times, indeed!
    Lots of good luck for you all on both occassions!

  3. Marm :):) says:

    Looks like a beautiful place to visit !!! Thankful for your blog to hear all of your exciting news.Looking forward to your tales and pictures from your summer travels. ENJOY being close to your friends and sharing adventures with them. Best Wishes for this new chapter for all of you!!!!!

  4. OZme says:

    Well come to hot south! Hope to get togather some time soon!

    That part of lappi, I have been and was super experience. You will have real good time. You Enjoy and we wait for the report!!

    • Hehehe, “hot” south. 😉

      Yes, we’ll have to get together soon. I’m already “researching” new outdoor destinations to explore, and I know you guys know of good places as well.

      I think this year’s Lappi trip will be a whole level above last year’s trip. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

