A jar lantern and some other small projects

Continuing with the theme of “making something useful from household items (or junk)”, I decided to make something that I’ve been needing/wanting for a while. It is a very simple jar lantern for lighting up a small tent, helping create a little atmosphere around camp etc.

All you need is an empty jar, some wire and a candle. This project is so easy I don’t really think I need to explain how to do it. The pictures show how this “marvel of engineering” works. 😉

I retained the lid so I could keep the candle from coming out while underway.

This little guy throws off a good amount of light and is both lightweight and easily replaceable.

Another project in progress is my effort to make the pack straps of my Swedish military surplus rucksack more comfortable. I cut out pieces from a thin foam sleeping pad and attached two on each strap, one on the front and one on the back. I sewed the front and back pads to each other and then attached the pads to the leather strap (the “dotted line” running down each pad). The final step will be to cover the foam pads with canvas or some other material to make them more rugged (though I used this pack at the Bushcraft Finland meetup and didn’t have any problems with the pads as they are).

The last item is a “soot brush” for the buddy burner stove. Actually, this is something that will come in handy when cooking with a wood fire as well (which is what I usually do). After cooking, I’ll use this cut-down, stiff-bristled paintbrush to remove soot from the bottom of pots and pans. I tried it out after using the buddy burner, and it works really well. I’m not afraid of a little dirt or anything, but soot can be a real pain in the butt, as it makes anything it comes into contact with filthy.

These small projects aren’t anything amazing or groundbreaking, but they do make a difference in the field.

Leave a Reply

