An afternoon outing with the Woodswife

On Saturday, I had the pleasure of being accompanied to the forest by the Weekend Woodswife (the Woodsboy was spending the day with the Woodsgrandparents ;)). It was a nice change from the norm, both because I could share my hobby with the Woodswife and because she was able to take pictures of me doing stuff (I just don’t bother setting up timed shots when I’m out by myself). The only pics I took that day are the ones of her.

We left in the late morning and snowshoed to my campsite. The Woodswife learned that snowshoes don’t always work as intended.

When we reached my kota shelter, I laid down a lamb fleece on the pile of spruce branches so the Woodswife could rest in comfort.

After a short while, she wanted to hike around a bit. Close by, she found a small “natural shelter” at the base of a spruce tree.

She then gave me a lesson in felling large trees. So that’s how to do it…?

I started sweating when I heard her muttering something about “wanting to go out and look for a fun guy“, but then I realized that she meant something like this.

She found these birch polypore fungi near a small pond at the edge of her mom’s property. πŸ˜€

Some nearby saplings and young trees.

I decided to gather some birch bark and lower dead branches from spruce trees to use as kindling.

We tamped down some snow and moved the “couch” outside near where the fire would be.

I dug out some firewood from my secret stash.

Then I split it up a bit. By the way, I’m wearing high rubber boots under my pants, so even though part of my pants are wet, I’m completely dry and warm underneath.

I made a wood platform on the snow, placed birch bark on top of that and then put the dry spruce branches on top of that.

Then I got out my matches and lit the birch bark.

I put some pieces of split spruce on top so they could already start warming up.

This was followed by roasting a few sausages, a Finnish tradition. πŸ˜‰

The Woodswife has thinner skin than me, so she decided to start shoeing back while I was getting the last few things sorted before leaving the camp.

Here’s a shot of our tracks in the snow.

And the scenery between the camp and where we parked.

Thanks again, dear Woodswife, for handling the photography and being great company out in the forest. Hope you’ll join me again soon. πŸ™‚

14 comments on “An afternoon outing with the Woodswife

  1. Ron says:

    Outings like these shared with someone are even better, especially if it is done with SWMBO!
    Mine has been bitten by the “woodsbug”, too, so I am looking at more time out there with her… How did your Mss. like it?

    • She liked it a lot. πŸ™‚ She has been skiing since she was about 4 years old, so being out like this is nothing new for her, but it was only the second time she’s ever gone snowshoeing. She said she’d definitely like to go again. πŸ™‚ She also mentioned that she wants to practice different firemaking techniques and do a weekend hiking and camping trip this year, so maybe she’s getting bitten by the woodsbug, too. πŸ˜‰

  2. Ron says:

    Judging by the sounds of it, I’d say most likely!

    Looking at your pics I can see you still have winter. Here we have moved into the inbetweenfase; thaw during the day, frost during the night with a breeze, making being out there less comfortable.
    Too bad winter has been cut short, so now I hope spring will arrive soon, although it is quite early, still.

    • Yes, we still have winter here. Normally, the last of the big snow piles in town melt by the end of April, but a lot of the snow is already gone by mid-April. So we still have a while to go yet, unless we have a really early and warm spring!

  3. OZme says:

    Good outing! With wife, outing experience becomes different and in good way.

    I was out in woods with my wife few weeks ago and since then she wants snowshoe or ski so can go bit more unpopular destination.

    Hope my wife is not going to say she wants some β€œFun guy” πŸ™‚

  4. Marm :):) says:

    GREAT pics and commentary, Weekend Woodsman! Beautiful,serene setting for a day of fun! Thanks to Woodswife for the pics of you in action~Hope to see Woodsboy at the campsite,too,sometime!Lots of Love and HUGS~

    • Thanks, Woodsmom. πŸ˜‰

      I’d love to get Woodsboy out there, too. The logging road out to the site is very uneven and steep in some places, so it hasn’t been a good idea to bring him out there. I think he’ll be ready this summer, though. πŸ™‚

  5. kermiitintarinat says:

    I have to say that property your mother in law has is awesome. How far is it from houses and can you swim in a pond without anyone disturbing you?

    • Yep, I am VERY lucky to be able to use that property. πŸ˜€ It is about 15 ha/40 acres in size. My mother-in-law has a cabin on the bigger lake, but most of the property is not waterfront. Just beautiful forest. πŸ™‚

      There are a few other cabins on the main lake, maybe 5 or so. As for year-round houses, there are a few in the neighborhood (very rural, just a few houses in the country). Even these are several kilometers away.

      Sure, it’s possible to swim in the pond with no disturbances. My mother-in-law owns the land on one side of the pond, and Tornator owns the land on the other side. NO-ONE ever goes there to swim. Ever. πŸ™‚

      I can pretty much do what I want there, and very few people are ever out there. Just my wife’s family from time to time to pick berries and mushrooms and harvest firewood then some moose hunters during moose-hunting season. It’s a woodsman’s paradise. πŸ˜€

      Hey, have you joined up at Bushcraft Finland yet? We’re going to have a meetup in your area next month!

  6. Chris Major says:

    Fantastic post,

    looks like such a beautiful place!

    Unfortunately our snow only lasted a couple of day hear on the east coast of England and now the birds are singing and spring seems to have sprung.

    I look forward to reading about your future endeavours

  7. […] thought it would be cool to camp near the small pond at the edge of the property last visited with the Woodswife, so I hiked in that direction, snapping this shot along the […]

  8. […] only tolerate the winter, but embrace it (a few outings from last winter can be found here, here, here and here). No bugs, no rain, silent forests, gorgeous scenery…what’s not to […]

Leave a Reply

