A few tools of the woodsman

Today I thought I’d show you a few of the tools of the woodsman which I have slowly acquired here and there over the past few years. Two of the tools were purchased second-hand for very little money, and one was free.

So far I have collected:

  • 36″ bow saw
  • Bark knife/drawknife
  • Full-size 3.5 pound poll axe
  • Full-size 4 pound double-bit axe
  • Log tongs
  • Gloves ๐Ÿ˜‰

By no means is the group shown here a complete set of woods tools. There are plenty of glaring omissions (splitting maul, steel splitting wedge, rope, brush axe, peavey, adze, the list goes on and on). It merely shows what I have accumulated casually so far. I will continue to pick up more tools as I come across them. While I do use some of the above tools from time to time, I am mainly holding on to them for future use (making firewood, log construction, big projects etc.) at a future homestead.

14 comments on “A few tools of the woodsman

  1. Askemux says:

    You should not forget chainsaw ;). Or are you going to do all by old fashion way?

    -Askemux-

    • I prefer to rely on traditional methods/tools/etc. over more modern power tools etc. because there’s a lot that can go wrong with modern stuff (broken parts, gasoline needed etc.). Of course, let’s see how I feel about this in a few years when I use these tools more. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Finnman says:

    Good set of basic forestry tools. You just need couple of chisels and few hand drills and you can do a lot.

    Talking about chainsaws, if you are really doing heavy work chainsaw are only way to go today, but for hobby / bushcraft projects and felling tree or two some times can do with hand tools easily.

    – Finnman

    • Yes, I know a lot of things are missing. I’m not trying to figure out what’s missing right now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I may get power tools in the future, but I will always keep my hand tools because they will always work. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Antoio says:

    Great collection! I love that curvy look to the poll axe. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks for commenting!

      That axe handle is kind of different. It was a good bit thicker when I got it from Council Tool. I spent time whittling it down a bit, and the curves you see are the “organic” result. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The important thing is that it works. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. OZme says:

    Nice set! I can see whole range of projects you can do with it. throw in auger and chisels, you are good to go for cabin building!
    ……….I wish I have forest I can do those freely..

    • Yes, there are still many tools missing, but I am acquiring them slowly here and there. I have permission to build a cabin at/near my campsite or the small pond in the woods (not the lake), so now all I need are more tools and some free time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Finnman says:

    How that bark knife works have you worked with it? In pic looks very thin and springy? Does it keeps itล› edge?

    Wow, if you are allowed to build log cabin there you should start by falling trees this winter already so they can dry well for year or two.

    What kind of cabin you are thinking to build? Are you going to make it completely without powertools?

    I have been thinking own log cabin building also, but I lack quite a lot knowledge about it yet to do it myself. But maybe some day.

    – Finnman

    • I haven’t used the bark knife, but someone has! I bought it second-hand, and it had been sharpened with a file. It’s not thin or springy at all. it just looks thin because there are much larger things around it in the picture. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t have a set plan for building a cabin at that site. It may be somewhere else. That’s why I’m not ready to cut any trees yet. As for the type and with/without power tools, I don’t know yet. It’s still some time off in the future when I have more time and a definite location. I also need to learn a lot before I do a project like this.

  6. pure_mahem says:

    Do you carry both Green and Dry blades for the Bow saw?

    • Thanks for the comments!

      The Bahco 36-incher came with a blade for seasoned wood. That’s all I’ve been cutting with it so far. When it comes time to buck green sticks, I’ll get some blades for that purpose as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The main purpose of my wood processing is for camping firewood, so my 3/4 axe and 10″ Fiskars sliding saw are usually enough for that, and I don’t often carry the bigger bow saw. But since I am now slowly working on breaking up a big spruce that fell a few years ago, my bushcraft tools don’t really “cut” it, so the bigger saw is necessary. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Ricson says:

    I do a lot of work with 2 man crosscut saws as well as bigger 1 man crosscuts. If you have a couple of good crosscuts and some patience you don’t need a chain saw. Two half decent sawyers can drop an average size conifer in like 3 minutes, with a lot of that being back and forth from saw to axe and whatnot. sawing through a 12″ pine with a 2 man crosscut takes about 30 seconds at a leisurely pace.

Leave a Reply

