A wet, winter-ish hike

Winter is still not here. It’s dark, it’s muddy and it’s wet, but that didn’t stop me from checking out a new place today. Instead of exploring more of the property I usually go to, as I had originally planned, I went to a public forested area not far from our neighborhood. I’m really glad I gave it a shot, because it’s a pretty decent place.

Right away, I spotted some more confused plants that think spring has arrived.

(Little ferns in the center):

Some snow was still left on the roads/trails from the storm we had.

But for the most part there wasn’t much of the white stuff to be seen.

The sad part about the next picture is that it was not intended to be in black-and-white.

A bit more than half-way through the hike, it started to snow. Unfortunately, the air wasn’t that cold, so the snow was wet and melted on my jacket (the temperature was juuuust above freezing). But it did look nice.

By the time I passed by the area near where I took the picture of the young ferns, this is what it looked like:

In all, I hiked for about 2 hours and 15 minutes, so I probably went about 8 – 10 km/5 – 6 mi. I’m embarrassed and annoyed that I hadn’t taken more time to check out this place until now, seeing as how close it is to our home. Well, now I know, and now I have a new place to hike nearby.

4 comments on “A wet, winter-ish hike

  1. OZme says:

    In Finland, The beauties of the forest are found surprisingly close to where people live. Even I know that the major road runs about half km away, the “nearby forest “still has enough energy to make you forget about that civilization.

  2. Ron says:

    Often the best things are right in front of us…..

  3. My favorite place to be is about 1/2 mile from home. Love the crooked tree.

Leave a Reply

