One year of TWW

One year ago today (11/11/11)  I started The Weekend Woodsman blog. Since then, I have published 93 posts (on average, one every four days) and answered almost 500 comments from readers. The blog has been viewed over 40,000 times, and 66 people have subscribed. I have written before that my motivation for having this blog is not to see how high I can get these numbers (I would have way, way more subscribers if I wrote about Justin Bieber, for example). Rather, I maintain this blog to share my experiences, projects and ideas with like-minded and other interested people in the hopes that they get something out of it, whether it be information, entertainment or just a look at something a little different. Naturally, I also enjoy answering comments and getting feedback. The fact that the blog has grown as much as it has is great motivation for me to continue going with it. So thank YOU for reading, subscribing, commenting etc. By doing this, YOU keep the blog going!

I have a long list of ideas and plans for outings, both solo and with other bloggers (like yesterday’s daytrip with Bush n’ Blade and Scandic Woodsman, which I’ll write about soon) and projects, so stay tuned!

I’ll close by showing a selection of pictures I’ve published over the past year. Hope you like them…again ;).

(This image was shot by OZme of Bush n’ Blade.)

(This image was shot by OZme of Bush n’ Blade.)

21 comments on “One year of TWW

  1. Ron says:

    I think it is a good thing to look back every once in a while. Not to live in the past, but to see how far you’ve come, what your path was and where you’re heading.
    You did well the past year, I’d say.

  2. Chris Major says:

    I must have been following your posts for the best part of the year and just want to say thank you!
    Like you, my blog has helped me to network with like minded folk and I have been inspired by your posts, long may they continue!

  3. Marm :):) says:

    Beauty to be found all over the world!!! THANKS for taking us on your nature adventures!!!

  4. Corey says:

    Just wanted to say, I really enjoy your blog. It’s one of my favorites and always worth reading. Stay at it!

  5. Congratulations on making the one year mark!

  6. Sam says:

    I have really enjoyed reading your blog, I am always getting ideas from it, keep it up!

  7. OZme says:

    congratulations and happy birthday to TWW! Feels like much longer since you have started this blog. I guess it because of so many of good entries and I enjoyed them all.
    great photos to look back.

    p.s.
    Perhaps you should make calender with all those photos. it is nice to print out for time to time.

  8. Congratulations on the year, I have to say you’ve put up some awesome images, great insights, and wonderful outings. You are indeed one of those that I live vicariously through when I can’t get my own time.

    Well done!

  9. WW- It looks like I found your blog a year late.
    Congratulations!

  10. Isabelle says:

    What a wonderful selection of pictures of your first blogging year ! Thank you so much for sharing. I love these images of wild nature, the cosy feeling of a camp fire with snow all around, vegetation not totally unknown to me here in the Alps (bilberries, are they like blueberries ?), family outings, I really enjoy your pictures. Congratulations and on to another year of great pictures of your woods.

    • Thanks very much! :)

      Bilberries are the English name for what the Finns call mustikka (kind of like “black berry”), what the Swedes call “Blåbär” and what the Germans call “Heidelbeer”. Sorry, I don’t know what it is in any languages other than those. :) Bilberries are closely related and similar to the blueberries of North America (and probably other places).

  11. [...] off, a correction of sorts: In my anniversary post, I forgot to give credit to OZme of Bush n’ Blade for two pictures which he took. His [...]

Leave a Reply

